Dorothy Must Die

Dorothy Must Die


Book - 2015 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Three prequel novellas to the Dorothy Must Die series that follow Dorothy Gale as she transforms from good girl to Wicked Witch.
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2015]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062280794
Branch Call Number: TEEN PAIGE
Characteristics: 377, 27 pages ; 21 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Aug 26, 2015

“Dorothy Must Die Stories” is a collection of three stories taking place in Paige’s “Dorothy Must Die” universe. The first story, “No Place Like Oz”, follows the tyrannical Dorothy’s return to Oz, and her terrifying rise to power. “The Witch Must Burn” follows the serving maid Jellia as she goes to work for Glinda the Good Witch, and her first hand witness to the slow dilapidation of Oz. The third and final story is “The Wizard Returns”, which is about the Wizard and his return to Oz, and his alliance with the flying monkeys during a time of unrest in Oz.

While “Dorothy Must Die Stories” takes place in the same world as Danielle Paige’s main “Dorothy Must Die” series, this book is simply an expansion on the main storyline. For the most part, “Dorothy Must Die Stories” is an entertaining collection of stories. “No Place Like Oz” and “The Witch Must Burn” both have gripping plots that will keep readers interested and on the edge of their seats. Unfortunately, “The Wizard Returns” falls short. Its plot is somewhat dull, and it feels as though it drags on for chapters without advancing in any way. The characters in the first two stories are wonderfully well written, and it is fantastic to see Dorothy’s rise to power, as well as Jellia’s reasoning to join the Wicked Witches’ resistance group from the “Dorothy Must Die” series. Sadly, the characterization of the Wizard is not very interesting, and “The Wizard Returns” is yet another author’s attempt at redeeming him. Paige’s version of Oz is expanded in these three stories, and the new views and settings investigated are wonderfully well-written.

Overall, the author of this review highly recommends “No Place Like Oz” and “The Witch Must Burn”, but doesn’t particularly recommend “The Wizard Returns”. None of these stories contain a great deal of symbolism or deeper meanings, and would not make very good essay books or ‘book talk’ books. Due to some scary content, the author of this review believes “Dorothy Must Die Stories” to be suitable for ages twelve and up.

Jun 08, 2015

No place like oz was really good. Gave us the real impression of what happened to Dorothy. Kinda also made me feel bad for wanting her dead since it really isn't all her fault. The witch must burn was alright but personally the wizard returns was pretty boring.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

To Top