Clash of Eagles

Clash of Eagles

Book One of the Hesperian Trilogy

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
"In a world where the Roman Empire never fell, a legion under the command of general Gaius Marcellinus invades the newly-discovered North American continent. But Marcellinus and his troops have woefully underestimated the fighting prowess of the Native American inhabitants. When Gaius is caught behind enemy lines and spared, he must reevaluate his allegiances and find a new place in this strange land"-- Provided by publisher.
"Perfect for fans of military and historical fiction--including novels by such authors as Bernard Cornwell, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove--this stunning work of alternate history imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has not fallen and the North American continent has just been discovered. In the year 1218 AD, transported by Norse longboats, a Roman legion crosses the great ocean, enters an endless wilderness, and faces a cataclysmic clash of warriors, worlds, and gods. Ever hungry for land and gold, the Emperor has sent Praetor Gaius Marcellinus and the 33rd Roman Legion into the newly discovered lands of North America. Marcellinus and his men expect easy victory over the native inhabitants, but on the shores of a vast river the Legion clashes with a unique civilization armed with weapons and strategies no Roman has ever imagined. Forced to watch his vaunted force massacred by a surprisingly tenacious enemy, Marcellinus is spared by his captors and kept alive for his military knowledge. As he recovers and learns more about these proud people, he can't help but be drawn into their society, forming an uneasy friendship with the denizens of the city-state of Cahokia. But threats--both Roman and Native--promise to assail his newfound kin, and Marcellinus will struggle to keep the peace while the rest of the continent surges toward certain conflict"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Del Rey, 2015.
ISBN: 9780804177238
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

An alternate history with strong, mostly logical world-building, this is essentially a story of first contact between a Rome that never fell and the Cahokian American Indians. Fans of Native American and Roman history and warfare may appreciate this novel, the first in a trilogy. Suggested by Joc... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
AlmadenAFS
Nov 08, 2015

Not bad but a slow read. Mind switches from past to present as names, places challenge actual history. If nothing else it will keep you guessing.

r
Rumpel11
Sep 11, 2015

Noted with approval by Steve Mirsky in Scientific American's column "Anti-Gravity" (July, 2015)

y
yo918
Jun 06, 2015

Personally, I love these "alternate history" novels, the "what if" fantasy. And this one is original if nothing else...a Roman soldier in Cahokia in a world where the Roman Empire is still going strong in the days just before real history saw Europeans begin their invasion of the American continent. Notice I didn't say "discovery"? Aren't I politically correct? Anyhow, all I will say is that this novel makes me really want to see the next installment in the series.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top