The Collected Oscar Wilde

The Collected Oscar Wilde

eBook - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The Collected Oscar Wilde , by Oscar Wilde , is part of the Barnes & Noble Classics series, which offers quality editions at affordable prices to the student and the general reader, including new scholarship, thoughtful design, and pages of carefully crafted extras. Here are some of the remarkable features of Barnes & Noble Classics :

New introductions commissioned from today''s top writers and scholars Biographies of the authors Chronologies of contemporary historical, biographical, and cultural events Footnotes and endnotes Selective discussions of imitations, parodies, poems, books, plays, paintings, operas, statuary, and films inspired by the work Comments by other famous authors Study questions to challenge the reader''s viewpoints and expectations Bibliographies for further reading Indices & Glossaries, when appropriate All editions are beautifully designed and are printed to superior specifications; some include illustrations of historical interest. Barnes & Noble Classics pulls together a constellation of influences--biographical, historical, and literary--to enrich each reader''s understanding of these enduring works. A renowned eccentric, dandy, and man-about-town, Oscar Wilde was foremost a dazzling wit and dramatic genius whose plays, poems, essays, and fiction contain some of the most frequently quoted quips and passages in the English language. This volume features a wide selection of Wilde''s literary output, including the comic masterpiece The Importance of Being Earnest , an immensely popular play filled with satiric epigrams that mercilessly expose Victorian hypocrisy; The Portrait of Mr. W. H. , a story proposing that Shakespeare''s sonnets were inspired by the poet''s love for a young man; The House of Pomegranates , the author''s collection of fairy tales; lectures Wilde delivered, first in the United States, where he exhorted his audiences to love beauty and art, and then in England, where he presented his impressions of America; his two major literary-theoretical works, "The Decay of Lying" and "The Critic as Artist"; and a selection of verse, including his great poem The Ballad of Reading Gaol , in which Wilde famously declared that "each man kills the thing he loves." A testament to Wilde''s incredible versatility, this collection displays his legendary wit, brilliant use of language, and penetrating insight into the human condition. Angus Fletcher is Distinguished Professor Emeritus, City University of New York, and the author of Allegory: The Theory of a Symbolic Mode, Colors of the Mind , and A New Theory for American Poetry , among other books.
Publisher: New York : Barnes & Noble Classics, 2007.
ISBN: 9781411431928
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: Fletcher, Angus 1930-
OverDrive, Inc
Alternative Title: Oscar Wilde


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

To Top