That Hideous Strength

That Hideous Strength

A Modern Fairy-tale for Grown-ups

Downloadable Audiobook - 1996
Average Rating:
Rate this:
This is the final book of C. S. Lewis s acclaimed Cosmic (or Ransom) Trilogy, which includes Out of the Silent Planet and Perelandra. A classic work of fantasy as much for the wonder of its storytelling as for its insights into the human condition, the trilogy stages an epic battle between forces of light and darkness across a canvas of other worlds.

In That Hideous Strength, the brave philologist Dr. Ransom (modeled after Lewis s friend J.R.R. Tolkien) finds himself in a world of superior alien beings and scientific experiments run amok. There is a rumor that the powerful wizard Merlin has returned to the world of the living, and a sinister technocratic organization plans to use his power in their plot to recondition society. Ransom s fight for moral wisdom in a brave new universe dominated by science is a quest filled with intrigue and suspense.

Publisher: New York : Scribner Paperback Fiction, 1996.
ISBN: 9781441713001
Branch Call Number: eAUDIO OVERDRI
Characteristics: 1 sound file : digital
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

To Top