North by Northwestern

North by Northwestern

A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters

Book - 2010 | 1st ed.
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen's rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family's struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream Sig Hansen has been a star of the Discovery Channel's Deadliest Catch from the pilot to the present. Seen in over 150 countries, the show attracts more than 49 million viewers per season, making it one of the most successful series in the history of cable TV. With its daredevil camera work, unpredictably dangerous weather, and a setting as unforgivable and unforgettable as the frigid Bering Sea, The Deadliest Catch is unlike anything else on television. But the weatherworn fishermen of the fishing vessel Northwestern have stories that don't come through on TV. For Sig Hansen and his brothers, commercial fishing is as much a part of their Norwegian heritage as their names. Descendents of the Vikings who roamed and ruled the northern seas for centuries, the Hansens' connection to the sea stretches from Alaska to Seattle and all the way to Norway. And after twenty years as a skipper on the commercial fishing vessel the Northwestern - which was his father's before him - Sig has lived to tell the tales.   To be a successful fisherman, you need to be a mechanic, navigator, welder, painter, carpenter, and sometimes, a firefighter. To be a successful fisherman year after year, you need to be a survivor. This is the story of a family of survivors; part memoir and part adventure tale, North By Northwestern brings readers on deck, into the dockside bars and into the history of a family with a common destiny. Built around a gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like The Perfect Storm, North By Northwestern is the multi-generational tale of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who, through the popularity of The Deadliest Catch, have become modern folk-heroes.
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2010.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781427209030
1427209030
9780312591144
0312591144
Branch Call Number: 639.2092 HANSEN
Characteristics: 320 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. (some col.), map ; 25 cm.
Additional Contributors: Sundeen, Mark 1970-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
MissWahoo
Jul 04, 2011

I was glad to learn a few things that I'd always wondered about, although the story felt pretty choppy at times. I often had to re-read a paragraph, because it seemed like things were left out; as if entire sentences had been snatched from the story. Aren't books edited before they are published? While there were only a few true typos in this book, there were some mistakes that any Ballardite would catch. The Farmers Market is on Sunday, not Saturday, and what the heck is "Sea Fair"? At least "Seafoodfest" wasn't a victim of some out-of-towner's spell check.
Still, it was interesting to read about Sverre Hansen; as well as his boys and their colleagues, who hold a place of honor on our TiVO.

k
kelliet
Apr 24, 2010

A good book. Shows how hard an immigrant family worked to make it in a new country and how hard the younger generations continue to work to only make things better not only for the family here, but the family in the homeland their parents left.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top