Cold Storage

Cold Storage

A Novel

Book - 2019 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of -Jurassic Park-: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism.
Publisher: New York : Ecco, 2019.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062916433
0062916432
Branch Call Number: FIC KOEPP
Characteristics: 308 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

A killer fungus wreaks havoc when a bunker fails to keep the thermostat stable in this cinematic thriller. The ragtag bunch of quirky characters makes this super fun.

An aggressive fungus threatens humanity when Earth’s warming affects a climate controlled military storage facility in this fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, juggernaut of a read. Suggested by Marie B.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
loonylovesgood Oct 22, 2020

Nothing like reading a book about a killer fungus right at the start of the Coronavirus pandemic!! Great, edgy, cheesy sci-fi fun. Would make a great B movie!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Sep 23, 2020

I've never really been one of science fiction, but this is a science fiction novel like no other. Cold Storage is a science fiction novel that doesn't use too much terminology that is beyond the average person's diction. It is very easy to understand with an interesting (yet gruesome) plot. The way Koepp wrote the book allows the vividness of his language to come off the page and into your head to present the most terrifying images yet. Also, the ideology of the book is fun! It's fun to read about farfetched things that are backed up by scientific (fictional) evidence. However, I will say that the science fiction ideas are a little bit simplistic and the character development is not all that memorable. Although, the horror-like aspect of the novel is one to send chills down anyone's spine. The length of the novel was great to the point where it wasn't too short. So, the reader was left wanting more. Also, it wasn't too long that it bored the reader. At the end of the day, I gave the book a three-star rating because it is fun, but the connections between the characters are not especially fantastic. So, I wouldn't say to stay away from the novel, but it's not bad either. Put on your hazard suit and give it a try! 3 Stars - @BlingThrash15 of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

b
Bookworm1136
Jul 26, 2020

4 1/2 star read. I started this book yesterday and finished it this morning. It was one of those books. Koepp writes a very fast paced and intriguing horror/thriller that made for a compulsive read. Roberto Diaz, a Pentagon Bioterror operative was sent to a remote place in Australia to look into a possible bio weapon and he found something 100% lethal to all humans, animals, and ultimately everything on Earth. He and his team brought a sample back after eradicating the threat, and this sample was stored in the depths of a cave to keep it from ever getting out again. But many years later, the Government sold off the cave and a self storage unit company has taken it over. Two young security guards are working the night shift and they hear a beeping alarm go off. They trace it back and discover a hidden panel of alarms protecting something. Roberto is called out of retirement and sent to neutralize the threat and he enlists the two guards to help him. These three are the only way to save humanity. Told with a good sense of humour and great dialogue, I really enjoyed this book and hope Koepp is busy writing another book.

o
ocean_314
Mar 11, 2020

Full of left wing political propaganda. Ending was really bad and incomplete. I want read for fun, if i want the left wing propaganda that is in this book i will go to a movie

m
midori_hon
Dec 04, 2019

read this book based on a recommendation from stephen king. it was creepy slimy fun.

e
esogge
Nov 30, 2019

Made-for-TV trash.

r
Russ_A
Nov 16, 2019

This is not at all what I was expecting, but it still turned out to be relatively entertaining. I have a soft spot for medical or bio-thrillers like Jurassic Park. From the description - the monster a fungus from space - I had expected something along the lines of The Andromeda Strain. Instead what I got was more like Ghostbusters, a sort of faux horror vibe. This is a totally farcical satire with no attempt at being believable, nor is it scary. The characters are all wacky and do wacky things as they try to avoid getting eaten by the fungus and maybe even save the world in the process. It's not all that funny, but you can pass a few hours with it.

DCLadults Oct 10, 2019

A New & Noteworthy pick. A sci-fi pandemic debut novel by David Koepp, who wrote the screenplay for "Jurassic Park." Author Blake Crouch calls it “a beautiful hybrid of Michael Crichton and Carl Hiaasen,” and that sounds like quite a combination. Movie rights already sold.

b
bookworm_charles
Oct 07, 2019

Good fast fun. Read it in a day. Reads like an early (great) Stephen King story.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top