Mirage

Mirage

Book - 2018 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
1
"In a world dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation; she dreams of writing poetry; she dreams of having adventures, and traveling beyond her isolated home. But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects: she is kidnapped and brought to the royal palace, where she discovers that she is to become a body double for the hated princess Maram"-- adapted from Amazon description.
Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2018.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250126429
1250126428
Branch Call Number: TEEN DAUD
Characteristics: 311 pages : map ; 21 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Space Operas
SnoIsleLib_Teen Oct 18, 2019

If you love a book filled with palace intrigue and the heroine falling in love with her enemies fiancé, you’ll love Mirage. Amani must pretend to be her peoples’ worst enemy and she grows form a timid girl into a cunning revolutionary.

Kidnapped by Vathek conquerors, Amani is stolen from her family and her faith and forced to become the body double for the heir, half-Vathek Princess Maram. Inspired by legends of strong Andalusian Moroccan women, this epic space-fantasy keeps readers on the edge of their seats as Amani navigates... Read More »

Kidnapped by Vathek conquerors, Amani is stolen from her family and her faith and forced to act as the body double for the cruel heir, half-Vathek Princess Maram. Inspired by legends of strong Andalusian Moroccan women, this epic space fantasy keeps readers on the edge of their seats as Amani nav... Read More »

Comment
SnoIsleLib_MartaM Apr 02, 2019

Kidnapped by Vathek conquerors, Amani is stolen from her family and her faith and forced to become the body double for the heir, half-Vathek Princess Maram. Inspired by legends of strong Andalusian Moroccan women, this epic space fantasy keeps readers on the edge of their seats as Amani navigates... Read More »

Since the brutal occupation of the Vathek empire, Amani has only dreamed of escape. But after her kidnapping, her hopes of returning to her former life may be forever lost.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
MelifluousView Oct 25, 2019

I loved how tied Amani was to her own culture and story. As she navigates becoming the body double of the princess, she connects with both her captors and others who are subject to their hard rule. The romance was engaging, and the character growth made me excited for the next book in the series.

SnoIsleLib_MartaM Apr 02, 2019

Kidnapped by Vathek conquerors, Amani is stolen from her family and her faith and forced to become the body double for the heir, half-Vathek Princess Maram. Inspired by legends of strong Andalusian Moroccan women, this epic space fantasy keeps readers on the edge of their seats as Amani navigates politics and danger and grows from a frightened girl who dreams of writing poetry to a quiet revolutionary who uses her brains to help thwart the colonializers. First in a series. For fans of Sabaa Tahir, Roshani Chokshi, and Marissa Meyer.

l
leslie_d_
Dec 13, 2018

Amani is kidnapped in order to play the body double to the hated half-Vathek princess Maram. Daud builds a depth of feeling behind Amani’s relationship with her mother and the daan in physical terms so that when Amani’s bones are ground and rounded off and her daan stolen, we are properly horrified and aggrieved.

Amani finds that she is not only tasked with risking assassination, but to navigating both sides of Maram’s family dynamics during a time when Maram must secure her place as ruler. Indeed, the majority of Amani’s assignments are less about possible assassination and more about how Maram just doesn’t want to participate in that familial event.

If the event involves the Kushaila or Maram’s fiancé Idris, Amani is fine with that. Fans of the swoon-worthy hero will adore Idris. And interactions with the Kushaila are a welcome reprieve as we see more Amani than her Maram-impressions and we learn of a culture sharp with wit, rich in poetry, fierce, mythic, and feminist.

The political intrigue is the only part of the novel that seems to slowly unfold in this smooth quick read. Baud’s writing is clean and the Kushaila culture is compelling.

If you are a plot-driven reader, Mirage will read like a novel-length stage setting for the political thriller and revolt to come. I loved the world Daud has built, its history and the Kushaila. I enjoyed the novel, but there was always an underlying sigh wondering why this couldn’t just be written as a stand-alone. Just the same, I know Court of Lions will involve a beautifully textured protagonist, culture, and mythology; which are things to look forward to returning to.

DCLteens Nov 12, 2018

A Must-Read Young Adult pick. Kidnapped from her impoverished village, Amani is forced to be a body double for a cruel princess in this buzzworthy sci-fi debut. An exciting next read for fans of "Cinder" and "An Ember in the Ashes."

OPL_KrisC Aug 07, 2018

An exotic, Moroccan-inspired teen fantasy with action, intrigue and romance. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Roshani Chokshi.

Age

Add Age Suitability
OPL_KrisC Aug 07, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top