Billion Dollar Whale

Billion Dollar Whale

The Man Who Fooled Wall Street, Hollywood, and the World

Book - 2018 | First edition.
Rate this:
The definitive inside account of the "extraordinary" ( Financial Times ) 1MDB scandal, "a true life thriller" (Ben Mezrich) about a "modern Gatsby" who managed to swindle over $5 billion with the aid of Goldman Sachs and others--a "must read" ( Booklist ) "epic tale" ( Publishers Weekly ) that exposes the secret nexus of elite wealth, banking, Hollywood, and politics from two award-winning Wall Street Journal reporters.

In 2009, with the dust yet to settle on the financial crisis, a baby-faced, seemingly mild-mannered Wharton grad began setting in motion a fraud of unprecedented gall and magnitude--one that would come to symbolize the next great threat to the global financial system. His name is Jho Low, a man whose behavior was so preposterous he might seem made up.

An epic true-tale of hubris and greed, Billion Dollar Whale reveals how this young social climber pulled off one of the biggest heists in history--right under the nose of the global financial industry. Federal agents who helped unravel Bernie Madoff's Ponzi scheme say the 1MDB affair will become the textbook case of financial fraud in the modern age--and its fallout is already being credited for taking down the prime minister of Malaysia. With his yacht and private jet reportedly seized by authorities and facing money-laundering charges in Malaysia, an Interpol red notice, and an ongoing U.S. Department of Justice Investigation, Low has become an international fugitive.
For readers of Liar's Poker , Den of Thieves , and Bad Blood , Billion Dollar Whale will become a classic, harrowing parable about finance run amok.
Publisher: New York : Hachette Books, 2018.
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780316436502
031643650X
Branch Call Number: 364.163 WRIGHT
Characteristics: xvii, 379 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Hope, Bradley - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top