We Were Strangers Once

We Were Strangers Once

A Novel

Book - 2017 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781455571437
1455571431
Branch Call Number: FIC CARTER
Characteristics: 327 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

v
valeriaedwards
Jul 06, 2018

I liked this book a lot. While the reviews called the writing glorious and wonderful, I found it a bit disjointed. For me, it took awhile for the story line and the multiple characters to fill in place. It's a cast of characters of Jewish immigrants to New York, pre-WW II. Sort of the German Jewish version of the Irish lass Eilis coming to Brooklyn in Colm Toibin's book of the same title.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top