The Weight of Ink

The Weight of Ink

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph." Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind.
Publisher: [S.I.] : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017.
ISBN: 9780544866676
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Additional Contributors: Overdrive Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
sallyblyth
Sep 02, 2017

This is an extraordinary book, beautifully written and well-researched. Although it centres on two female characters connecting over centuries, it is not just a book for women. There are several interesting men in the story who are necessary to the forward momentum of an intriguing plot.
As one of the best books I've read in the past six months, I recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction and has read and enjoyed books by Hilary Mantel or A.S. Byatt.

r
rpavlacic
Jul 04, 2017

A beautifully written book about a female Jewish scribe for a 17th century rabbi, in the time of the Great Plague and the London Fire; and a modern day (non-Jewish) scholar and her assistant who go on a hunt to find out who the elusive "Aleph" is and why how she came to be chosen over male candidates - while battling a competing team who are on the same search. Care is given to give the scribe's backstory, while drawing attention to the pressure researchers today face. This book has definite movie potential.

Age

Add Age Suitability

r
rpavlacic
Jul 04, 2017

rpavlacic thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top