The Baker's Secret

The Baker's Secret

Book - 2017 | First edition.
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
After her kind mentor is arrested because of his Jewish heritage, a young baker's apprentice in Normandy engages in discreet resistance activities, baking contraband loaves of bread for the hungry using surplus ingredients taken from occupying forces.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062369581
006236958X
Branch Call Number: FIC KIERNAN
Characteristics: 309 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Set in Occupied France during WWII, this follows the struggles and ingenuity of a village as they struggle to survive under a capricious and brutal occupation. Suggested by Jackie.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

martins_mom Jun 05, 2017

For fans of "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" although a bit darker. The central figure, Emmanuelle, the baker, is such a strong, self-aware woman and the other characters are all carefully drawn. I loved this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top