Radio Silence

Radio Silence

Book - 2017 | First U.S. edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
A studious girl and a quiet, straight-A boy start a controversial podcast together that challenges their courage and forces them to confront issues in the form of backlash and censorship.
Publisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2017.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
ISBN: 9780062335715
0062335715
Branch Call Number: TEEN OSEMAN
Characteristics: 474, 13 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
ace124
Aug 24, 2018

What a delight to read a book that:
a. centers a friendship (between a boy and a girl) that doesn't turn into a relationship
b. the main character doesn't have any romantic relationships during the timeline of the book, and that's not a problem
c. has a variety of LGBTQ+ characters with varying degrees of outness, and that's not the focus of the book
d. includes a demisexual character and a clear but simple explanation of asexuality and demisexuality.

Although it would have been nice if the main character, who overheard the asexuality/demisexuality conversation, had reflected on that information. Honestly, she came across as "asexual but hasn't realized it yet" to me, though she identifies as bisexual.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jun 23, 2018

This book was specifically written for generation Z which I liked, I mean the whole backbone of the story was a podcast. I also liked how this book has so much representation and discusses heavy themes still stigmatized by some. The friendship between Aled and Frances is so pure and it’s to see a platonic male female friendship in a YA novel. However I can’t say I connected with the book too much. Sometimes it felt like there were too many themes and messages being thrown around that not any one of them stepped forward and became the central message of the book. Some people enjoy these kinds of books, personally I don’t really.
- @bookanarchy of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

This book captivates the emotions that teenagers often feel as they enter their young adult life and must navigate the world for the first time on their own. False expectations and self doubt have led the main character Frances to feeling like she must be perfect, while also sacrificing the truth of who she really is. After being on a podcast where she was real and honest for the first time, it’s circulation backfires on her and she must answer to things that she never had the courage to before. This book forces you to confront your worst qualities as well as to be honest with yourself about who you are and who you want to be. I would rate this suspenseful and true to life story 4.5/5 stars and recommend it to those still struggling to discover their truth.
- @The_Reviewer of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

This book was a show of unity to the millennial experience.
Frances is a nerdy British-Ethiopian teen who is obsessed with a small podcast called Universe City. She's split between being her "school self" and real self. One self is at the top of the class, set on getting into Cambridge, and a workaholic... and the other self does Universe City fan art on Tumblr and has no true friends. But as she enjoys her podcast she meets a clever boy who isn’t who he seems. This book also had a unique aspect to it, that being its message to the reader that it's okay if they don't get into, or even want to go to, university. It doesn't hammer in that uni's worthless, more so that if you don't want to go, then you don't have to. I really enjoyed this book ;) Rating 4/5.
- @momo of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

lindsay_r Jun 13, 2017

An emotional rollercoaster about friendship, finding your path in life, and the turbulent world of online fandom

LPL_WilliamO Apr 14, 2017

Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park take note: current, diverse, and filled with quirky adorableness. An adorable story about friendship and being true to yourself. You won't want to put it down until you're done!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top