How to Disappear

How to Disappear

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
From the author of Between the Notes comes a story that shines a light on our love of social media and how sometimes being the person you think you want to be isn't as great as being the person you truly are. Perfect for fans of Vivi Greene's Sing and Susane Colasanti's Now and Forever. Vicky Decker's social anxiety has helped her to master the art of hiding in plain sight, appearing only to her best friend, Jenna. But when Jenna moves away, Vicky's isolation becomes unbearable. So she decides to invent a social life by Photoshopping herself into other people's photos and posting them on Instagram under the screen name Vicurious. Instantly, she begins to get followers, and soon, Vicky has made a whole new life for herself without ever leaving her bedroom. But the more followers she amasses online, the clearer it becomes that there are a lot of people out there who feel like her?#alone and #ignored in real life. To help them, and herself, she must stop living vicariously and start bringing the magic of Vicurious back to life.
Publisher: [S.I.] : HarperCollins, 2017.
ISBN: 9780062291776
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
SoftFire
Jan 08, 2019

So often people use their anonymity to be trolls and leave terrible comments on people's pages. I love that Vicky used hers for something admirable. I looked forward to reading this book any time I had a break. It is easy to see how someone could become so dependent on social media.

AshleyF2008 Oct 15, 2017

I wasn't really expecting to connect with this book as much as I did. It does a wonderful job portraying social anxiety. I liked that Vicky wasn't just a product of her environment which could have been full of bullies, abuse, etc. Social anxiety might come from those things, but it doesn't have to. Its often the "normal" things that are the most intimidating.

Usually I avoid books with obvious messages, but I feel like the author didn't sacrifice anything for that message. Characters and relationships were all very realistic. The conflicts played out in a realistic fashion. Definitely a solid read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top