Solitaire

Solitaire

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
2
2
1
Rate this:
In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell. My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year—before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people—I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now. Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.
Publisher: [S.I.] : HarperCollins, 2015.
ISBN: 9780062335708
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Additional Contributors: Overdrive Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
Brooke_Nicole
May 19, 2017

Authentic, dark, and deep. The character development is "funny because it's true." Themes similar to The Truman Show, The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, and The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier. Tone (tragic irony and dark comedy) similar to The Truman Show and Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut. Tori's thoughts are like the millennial Holden Caulfield or Jerry Renault, and this book is SO much better than other contemporary young adult fictions and psychological fictions.

c
cklkjs
Jul 10, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Tori is a great character and goes through many similar discussions like many other teenagers (as in discussing if Harry and Draco are really in a secret relationship?). The plot is really good, though at the end it's a bit confusing though it wraps up very nicely. Great LGBTQ+ characters and deals with a lot of issues many other teens are dealing with today.

Notices

Add Notices

b
Brooke_Nicole
May 19, 2017

Other: Mental illnesses discussed in the novel include self-harm, eating disorders, and suicidal thoughts.

b
Brooke_Nicole
May 19, 2017

Coarse Language: Some cussing--not excessive, but sometimes strong.

Age

Add Age Suitability

e
ecarr1212
Aug 01, 2016

ecarr1212 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top