Dangerous Women

Dangerous Women

1

Book - 2013 | First ed.
Average Rating:
7
1
1
Rate this:
Dangerous women is an anthology collection of short stories about strong and often violent women.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Tom Doherty Associates, LLC., c2013.
Edition: First ed.
ISBN: 9780765368751
0765368757
Branch Call Number: FIC DANGERO
Characteristics: 402 p. ; 18 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
csrestall
Jan 07, 2017

My rating for this book is based off of the three novellas that I read from it. I DID NOT READ ALL OF THE NOVELLAS.

Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell - Brandon Sanderson (4/5)
This novella was great! Really enjoyable premise, very suspenseful. Really fun quick read! It was fun to think of this within the realm of the cosmere. The characters were great, and the story very interesting. I gave it a 4 because of the ending! I want more! This is to be expected with my favourite author.

Virgins - Diana Gabaldon (3/5)
This novella was okay, it felt a bit rushed. It might have been better as a stand alone. I enjoyed the idea of young Ian and Jaime. I felt the dialogue was rushed as well as the plot. It was fun but needed a bit of fleshing out.

The Greens and the Blacks - George RR Martin (4/5)
This novella was written in a different style than the other Dunk and Egg novellas we have read so far. It was written more in the format of The World of Ice and Fire companion book, from the eyes of a historian or Maester. The story was good. There were lots of dragons and battles. It was really quite a tragic story, very much along the lines of the usual GRR stories. I enjoyed it very much! Ready for the final one, in the Rogues anthology!

Over all based on these three that is why I gave it a 4/5

t
trevorbrightwell
Dec 16, 2015

I picked this book up for the George RR Martin story. I was disappointed in this story. There were way to many characters that had no back stories and keeping track of all of them was impossible. There are a few plot twist, where I didn't even know the characters that were involved. I would rate this story as 2 stars.

Many of the stories felt like they ended, but didn't really have a conclusion.

For me the best stories were Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell and Bombshells. I have added the Dresden files book to my shelves for future reading.

The worst stories were Nora's Song and Name the Beast.

Overall I would rate this 2.5 stars.

Chapel_Hill_KenMc Jan 04, 2015

Like most anthologies, this collection contains a few golden kernels within the chaff. The selections cross genres, including fantasy, mystery, and suspense. Edited by George R.R. Martin ("Game of Thrones"), his own novella reads more like an appendix to a history of the "Thrones" universe and will only interest serious fans.

a
Aquarius_22_HN
Nov 29, 2014

I got this book just for The Princess and The Queen by George R. R. Martin. If you haven't read it yet, do it now. You will not regret it.

b
bishop026
Apr 01, 2014

My four star rating is ONLY for the George Martin tale.

z
zippycat
Mar 08, 2014

A series of not-so-short stories, mostly sci-fi or fantasy. I skipped through many of them, just not that interesting.

ChristchurchLib Jan 21, 2014

"There's something for everyone in this genre-spanning anthology of 21 stories, in which women - heroines and villainesses alike - take centre stage. Fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, Diana Gabaldon's Outlander saga, and George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire will enjoy exploring new facets of the worlds in which these series are set. Meanwhile, stand-alone stories by fantasy stalwarts such as Megan Lindholm, Brandon Sanderson, and Joe Abercrombie complement entries by a diverse group of veteran authors known for their work in other genres, including Sharon Kay Penman, Lawrence Block, and Nancy Kress." Fantasy January 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/e88314ee-6fa8-4404-a4ca-a4434322a503?postId=6ada4461-b345-4148-b15d-3f13e91854b6

Age

Add Age Suitability

c
csrestall
Jan 07, 2017

csrestall thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

c
csrestall
Jan 07, 2017

I will only be posting a summary of the three novellas I read, I DID NOT READ ALL OF THE NOVELLAS.

Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell.
This novella is set within the Cosmere. In the Forests of Hell, which are inhabbited by shades which are the floating disembodied spirits of people who had been touched by a shade. Not sure how the shades originated. Shades are provoked by fire, blood, and movement; much like your traditional zombie. They can be fought with silver/silver dust. The main character of this story is a bounty hunter, who is on the hunt for a murderer in order to gain the money from the bounty to provide for her daughters. Things go wrong and they end up fighting for their lives against the shades, as well as a rival.

Virgins
Young Jaime Fraser flees after the initial incident with his nemesis and his sister. He flees to France where he comes into contact with his friend Ian. Him and Ian are employed to see the safe passage of a virgin jewish girl to her wedding, by her grandfather; they are also in charge of the security of a valuable Torah scroll. Things go awry when the girl does not wish to attend her own wedding and flees to the home of her lover and takes the Torah scroll. Ian and Jaime must recover the scroll and return it to her grandfather; however the girl is married before they can prevent it.

The Princess and The Queen/ The Greens and the Blacks.
Princess Rhaenyra and Prince Aegon fight over the Iron Throne during the period known as The Dance of Dragons. This story is retold from the point of view of a historian relaying the events. Both sides gather armies and dragons too their cause. Rhaenyra was declared her fathers heir by the king himself. However she was on Dragonstone at the time of his death giving birth to a still born child. While she was distracted the council crowned her brother Prince Aegon, because a son comes before a daughter. This resulted in a large bloody war, with deaths on both sides. Rhaenyra lost all of her sons but one, as well as her dragons. Aegon lost his son and wife, as well as their dragons. This war resulted in the death of the majority of the dragons in Westeros. Over all it was quite a tragic story.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top