Murder at Honeychurch Hall

Murder at Honeychurch Hall

Book - 2014 | First edition.
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
"Former TV celebrity host Kat Stanford is just days away from starting her dream antique business with her newly widowed mother Iris when she gets a huge shock. Iris has recklessly purchased a dilapidated carriage house, on an isolated country estate, Honeychurch Hall, several hundred miles from London. When Kat arrives at the house, she discovers that Iris has yet another surprise in store. Iris has been writing in secret for years and reluctantly reveals that she's actually Krystalle Storm, the famous bestselling author of steamy bodice-rippers. The gentry upstairs and those below stairs at Honeychurch Hall regard the newcomers with suspicion and distrust. When the nanny goes missing, the loyal housekeeper ends up dead, and Iris is accused of the murder, Kat realizes she hardly knows her mother at all and wonders if she is--indeed--guilty. Although the six hundred year old estate has endured wars, corruption and Royal favors, it's the scandals, secrets and lies of the last few decades that must remain buried at all costs. This is a delightful and traditional cozy mystery that will appeal to fans of Louise Penny and G.M. Malliet"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2014.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250007797
1250007798
Branch Call Number: FIC DENNISO
Characteristics: 291 pages ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
Beverleigh
Oct 09, 2016

Boring. Got about 5 chapters into this book and couldn't be bothered with it.

t
thebritlass
Aug 23, 2015

A believable solution despite rather far-fetched plots and characters, this light-hearted mystery is undemanding and pleasurable. Just the thing for a cold or rainy weekend.

s
sandraperkins
Aug 16, 2015

I thought this book was annoying. The characters behaved foolishly, and the plot was contrived. The references to antique toys seemed forced (a way for the author to show off her knowledge, I guess). I am not sure why this got good jacket blurbs from authors I respect. I kept reading in hopes it would improve, but it never did. I am sorry I wasted time reading this book.

h
harrissusanc
Jul 29, 2015

Eccentric widow mother turns into can't tell you what at quarter point and brings the whole house of toys and history down by chance. She and Harry takeover wherever the clever path leads. Good frolicking romp, even if I would have liked a less techy ending. Nice break from Middlemarch.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top