The Republic of Vengeance

The Republic of Vengeance

Book - 2009 | 1st ed.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A consuming story of love, loss, and redemption set in the classical world of Rome and Greece, The Republic of Vengeance is the story of a young man's pursuit of his father's murderer and of the values and qualities he develops that will make him a man-a man capable of a deep, noble, and enduring love.At the end of the third century B.C., as Republican Rome's long war with Carthage was at last drawing to a close, it was already threatened by a new enemy, Philip, the tyrant king of Macedon in the east. Into this turbulent world emerges our Roman hero, Marcus, whose father is brutally murdered by pirates on a journey from Italy to Corfu on a visit to his uncle. Fate takes him to some of the great cities of the Greco-Roman world at a time of major turbulence, where he learns much and finds love unexpectedly.This debut novel explores political and philosophical questions that are as timeless as democracy and tyranny, war and self-defense, right and duty, as well as questions of love, loyalty, and betrayal. In the tradition of Mary Renault, Steven Pressfield, and Robert Graves, The Republic of Vengeance is a remarkable, beautifully written work of love, loss, and redemption.
Publisher: Woodstock, NY : Overlook Press, 2009, c2008.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781590201428
1590201426
Branch Call Number: FIC WATERS
Characteristics: 407 p. : maps ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top