Spellwright

Spellwright

Book - 2010 | 1st ed.
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
"Nicodemus Weal has trained at the wizardly stronghold of Starhaven since he was a boy. His mentor, the famous wizard Agwu Shannon, taught him how to cast spells made from luminescent magical runes, how to peel written words off a page and make them physically real, how to protect himself with defensive paragraphs, and how to thrust sharply worded sentences at an enemy. Initially, Nicodemus showed great promise. Able to forge magical runes with great speed, he was once thought to be the Halcyon--a powerful spellwright prophesied to prevent the apocalypse known as the Disjunction. There was only one problem: Nicodemus couldn't spell. Every time he touched a magical text, he unintentionally corrupted it, turning a useful spell into a dangerous, potentially deadly misspell. Even now, at twenty-five, Nicodemus's problem remains so bad that he is allowed to use his magic only for janitorial tasks. While his peers advance as wizards, he is still an apprentice, living with other disabled spellwrights and reading knightly romances that fuel his dreams of escape and adventure. When a powerful wizard is murdered with a misspell, Nicodemus and Shannon both are suspected. Worse, Nicodemus dreams of a foreign city under attack from an ancient, godlike spell...and wakes to find Starhaven abuzz with news of that city's actual destruction. A second nightmare makes Nicodemus begin to question his own sanity. When there are more mysterious deaths, the authorities hunt him as a murderer. Tormented and desperate, Nicodemus has no choice but to flee his pursuers so that he can discover the truth about the murders, the nature of magic...and himself."--Dust cover flap.
Publisher: New York : Tor, 2010.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780765317278
0765317273
Branch Call Number: FIC CHARLTO
Characteristics: 350 p. : map ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
ShamaBole
Dec 13, 2015

I got bored - somehow the writing and characters didn't grab me. I even persevered till page 144 and then gave up. Rather listless writing, with spots of interest. Nico's first lecture, for example. Other than that he just seems a bumbling young man awash in a sea of similar ineptitude.

JCLJaredH Jul 23, 2013

There is much that I loved about Spellwright: Nicodemus’s struggle with his disability (which is more impactful when you realize that Charlton himself is dyslexic); the development of the characters, with all their flaw and strengths; the unique and detailed magic system; the concept that good guys are good and bad guys are bad. Say what you want, but I like the standard fantasy tropes, and Charlton does a good job of infusing new life and perspective into them. More YA in tone than adult, I think both groups will like it. Good for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Brent Weeks.

m
Muffinpants
Jan 27, 2011

What I liked about this book was the way the author uses his experience of dyslexia in a positive way - the world of the book is shaped by the magic words used by the characters, so the protagonist's dyslexia affects his spellcasting,not just his spelling. If you read the short bio under the author's picture, you may wonder, as I did, "When does this guy sleep?"

m
misje0607
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic novel, can't wait to read the second one!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top