Death Note

Death Note

Vol. 1, Boredom

Graphic Novel - 2005 | Shonen Jump advanced graphic novel ed.
Average Rating:
19
11
3
 …
Rate this:
Light Yagami is an ace student with great prospects--and he's bored out of his mind. But all that changes when he finds the Death Note, a notebook dropped by a rogue Shinigami death god. Any human whose name is written in the notebook dies, and now Light has vowed to use the power of the Death Note to rid the world of evil. But when criminals begin dropping dead, the authorities send the legendary detective L to track down the killer. With L hot on his heels, will Light lose sight of his noble goal...or his life?
Publisher: San Francisco : Viz Media, 2005.
Edition: Shonen Jump advanced graphic novel ed.
ISBN: 9781421501680
1421501686
Branch Call Number: TEEN OHBA
Characteristics: 191 p. : chiefly ill. ; 19 cm.
Additional Contributors: Obata, Takeshi 1969-
Alternative Title: Deathnote. Vol. 1, Boredom
Boredom

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 25, 2017

This is a review for an anime (manga) called Death Note written by Tsugumi Ohba. The story follows a genius high school student named Light Yagami. Light discovers a supernatural Notebook which kills any person whose name is written in it. The notebook falls from a shinigami, which is a death god, called Ryuk. This notebook called "death note" is able to kill anyone with knowing the face of the person. Light decides to create a new world, killing all criminals and evils. He wants to become a new god of the new world he creates. Light makes a nickname for himself. His nickname is Kira. Meanwhile, a new genius detective named L is attempting to discover Kira's identity. That's how the conflict starts between 2 super genius characters in the anime (manga).
In my opinion Light is one of the most evil main characters in anime history. He kills his closest people and becomes super evil in the end. Meanwhile L is a very mysterious character and my most favourite character in the whole anime. The most annoying and hateful character is Misa. She's basically nothing but a useless character. She's added for no reason in the story. The anime ending was very sad, just and fair and my top most emotional ending ever. Also, I really liked the comedy in this anime. It wasn't all dark and bloody like some other anime shows used to be. I found most scenes were very funny. This anime can get very serious when it needed. And very funny when it need to be as well. That's why it's my most favourite mystery Anime.
Ratting 7/10
Genre: mystery supernatural thriller
- @animelover of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

Scythers Sep 14, 2017

I read this manga a while back, so it might be slightly less sophisticated than it seems to be, but I found it very well done! There is excellent character development, especially in Light Yagami, the main character. The private investigator (and classmate to Light) going by the name of L was by far my favorite character of of the lot. The story does NOT have a feel-good vibe to it, and could more likely be considered a thriller. A great read, a little much for most younger teens though.

c
Citizen92116
Feb 15, 2017

An interesting read; I highly recommend it.
This is essentially my gateway into manga but not necessarily comics.

The concept is novel and surprisingly smart.
Just when I think the story is going to coast, a new element is introduced and entices me to read further.

The only complaint I have is that I can tell this is for an adolescent or young-adult audience only by the pacing of some of the storytelling elements.

I'm looking forward to reading the next volumes.

y
yanhe
Aug 22, 2016

In my opinion, this wasn't the best manga I have ever read. It's just not my type. I mean, I guess the plot was O.K., but I really don't see what's so interesting about the story. If you don't want to read about a man who murders people of his own will, I suggest you look somewhere else

2
2kool4skool
Jun 15, 2015

This manga series is crazily good, wow. It is absolutely thrilling, well-drawn, definitely worth a read.

Mark_Daly Apr 17, 2014

Comics readers who enjoyed Y: THE LAST MAN and EX MACHINA may also appreciate this tightly plotted thriller. So might adolescents of all stripes, since it offers one of the all-time power fantasies: a high school student gains the supernatural power to kill virtually anyone in the world, at a distance and anonymously, with almost no risk of discovery. The rules governing the use of the Death Note are arbitrary and absurd, but the author consistently generates momentum and narrative tension from these self-imposed constraints. Be forewarned that this is a dark journey, as readers are invited to sympathize with the megalomaniacal thinking (and, let's face it, misogyny) of a cold-blooded killer.

s
SuperJay
Jul 13, 2013

I give it high praise! Very enjoyable...

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

this is THE BEST manga i have ever read! i might even go as far as saying this is the best thing i have EVER read. If you are looking for a good manga then this is EXACTLY what you're looking for! it doesnt get any better then this. Everything about this book is just AMAZING!!!!! I could spend forever writing all the amazing things about this manga series but instead i'll just say this: READ IT! It will not let you down! (but i can almost guarantee that you're favorite charecter will die, just a warning since in the end there are very few charecters that live)

Rinve Jul 23, 2012

Interesting Manga. The series is short but I love it ! Its awesome ! :)

darkph0enix13 Jul 23, 2012

The best manga i have ever read! i am so in love with light yagami!!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Scythers Sep 14, 2017

Scythers thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

r
rbjacobs
Jan 01, 2015

rbjacobs thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
Blue_Shark_101
Sep 16, 2014

Blue_Shark_101 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

s
SuperJay
Jul 13, 2013

SuperJay thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 60

r
rebecca10
Feb 20, 2013

rebecca10 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

t
Taliah21
Feb 17, 2013

Taliah21 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

Ólive thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

darkph0enix13 Jul 23, 2012

darkph0enix13 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

d
dilsha21
Apr 23, 2012

dilsha21 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

d
Dr_Inferno
Mar 25, 2012

Dr_Inferno thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

View All Ages

Quotes

Add a Quote

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

“For me… apples are like cigarettes and liquor for humans. If I’m deprived I go into withdrawals.” ~ Ryu

darkph0enix13 Jul 23, 2012

“For me… apples are like cigarettes and liquor for humans. If I’m deprived I go into withdrawals.”
~ Ryuk

d
dilsha21
Apr 23, 2012

Why did I drop it? Because I was bored, that's why.
- Ryuk the Shinigami

Summary

Add a Summary

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

Author Tsugumi Ohba and artist Takeshi Obata join forces in Death Note, in which a klutzy Shinigami demon drops his "death notebook" in the human world and has to go fetch it, causing unimaginable chaos. Helping restore the balance (well, eventually) is a bored 17-year-old boy called Light, who picks up the lost notebook and finds himself permanently bound to the demon. It's a highly entertaining, teenage take on the desire to control—or at least understand—life and death

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at Sno-Isle Libraries.

Try searching for Death Note to see if Sno-Isle Libraries owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top