The Education of Mrs. Bemis

The Education of Mrs. Bemis

A Novel

Book - 2002 | 1st ed.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Powerful, elegant, moving, and suspenseful --
the drama of an aged Boston matriarch's
unlikely bond with her young caregiver and
the buried secrets that haunt her

Meet Madeline Bemis, dowager of one of Boston's oldest Brahmin families: gracious, distinguished, refined. Meet Dr. Alice Matthews, resident psychiatrist at the Montrose Psychiatric Hospital: young, smart, passionate, and desperately in search of her own identity. When Alice finds the elderly Mrs. Bemis curled up on a bed in Filene's furniture department, suffering from an apparent breakdown, she immediately wants to help, and arranges to have Mrs. Bemis brought to Montrose.

As her therapist, Alice is soon probing deeper into Mrs. Bemis's past than she ever expected, pushing the formidable woman to reveal her shadowy psychological history. Through memories and dreams, Alice and Mrs. Bemis begin to piece together a heartbreaking saga, replete with shameful secrets and forgotten sorrows, that reaches all the way back to the 1940s, and turns out to be unexpectedly linked to a recent unsolved murder. The two women are drawn to each other in a way that goes far beyond the ordinary doctor-patient relationship, and as their intimacy deepens, Alice realizes that Mrs. Bemis's recovery -- and perhaps even her safety -- depends on her coming to terms with her secret history.

In the tradition of Susan Minot's Evening and Anna Quindlen's One True Thing, The Education of Mrs. Bemis is a mesmerizing and riveting story of friendship, murder, and romance, beautifully told and ultimately redemptive.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, c2002.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780060195656
0060195657
Branch Call Number: FIC SEDGWIC
Characteristics: 390 p. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top