Pocketbooks and Pistols

Pocketbooks and Pistols

eBook - 2016
Rate this:
Haley Randolph isn't exactly a model sales clerk at Holt's Department Store. But when the corporate office acquires a high-end boutique chain and extends a juicy discount to employees, the fashionista will do anything—maybe even a little hard work—to keep the part-time gig and clinch a Mystique handbag, the season's absolute must-have, at a heart-stopping price . . . With the extra duties she's taking on, Haley's positioning herself to be Employee of the Month. But when Haley discovers former Holt's employee Asha McLean shot dead behind the store during orientation training, it turns out there's more to die for than hot designer deals. The ensuing negative publicity could force Holt's to close its doors permanently, sinking the surrounding shopping center—and Haley's job—into oblivion. Haley can't fathom why anyone would harm Asha—until she learns that her former coworker, who secretly lived in Sherman Oaks and owned a mint BMW, was seriously shady. Upon closer inspection, Asha's duplicitous lifestyle not only earned lots of cash, but plenty of mortal enemies. As authorities question her innocence and business wanes, Haley's desperate to sack the murderer and save Holt's in time. Otherwise, instead of rocking a Mystique, Haley might end up full of holes—or worse, locked away in a very unflattering shade of orange . . . PRAISE FOR DOROTHY HOWELL AND HER HALEY RANDOLPH MYSTERIES! BEACH BAGS AND BURGLARIES "A fun, lighthearted whodunit." — The Mystery Gazette EVENING BAGS AND EXECUTIONS "Enjoyable...an unlikely but engaging sleuth." — Publishers Weekly TOTE BAGS AND TOE TAGS "The well-crafted plot, humor, and designer details will appeal to fans of Laura Levine and MaryJanice Davidson." — Booklist CLUTCHES AND CURSES "Frothy....The well-crafted plot offers plenty of red herrings." — Publishers Weekly SHOULDER BAGS AND SHOOTINGS "Recommend this series to fans of lightweight, humorous mysteries." — Booklist PURSES AND POISON "A treat for those with a passion for fashion. No doubt this sassy heroine's in for a long run." — Kirkus Reviews HANDBAGS AND HOMICIDE "Fashionistas take note: Dorothy Howell's delightful Handbags and Homicide dangles shopping to die for and a murder in store in a breezy debut mystery as sure to please as a Notorious handbag." —Carolyn Hart
Publisher: [S.I.] : Kensington, 2016.
ISBN: 9780758295057
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Additional Contributors: Overdrive Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top