Bloodchild and Other Stories

Bloodchild and Other Stories

Average Rating:
Rate this:
Six extraordinary stories from the author of Kindred , a master of modern science fiction--including a Hugo and Nebula award-winning novella.

Octavia E. Butler's classic "Bloodchild," winner of both the Nebula and Hugo awards, anchors this collection of incomparable stories and essays. "Bloodchild" is set on a distant planet where human children spend their lives preparing to become hosts for the offspring of the alien Tlic. Sometimes the procedure is harmless, but often it is not. Also included is the Hugo Award-winning "Speech Sounds," about a near future in which humans must adapt after an apocalyptic event robs them of their ability to speak. "The Evening and the Morning and the Night," another esteemed title in this collection, is a Nebula Award finalist. In these pages, Butler shows us life on Earth and amongst the stars, telling her tales with characteristic imagination and clarity. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Octavia E. Butler including rare images from the author's estate.
Publisher: New York : Four Walls Eight Windows
Copyright Date: ©1995
ISBN: 9781453263662
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor
Alternative Title: Bloodchild


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Apr 26, 2014

Collection of Octavia Butler's short stories. Mind blowing science fiction that will scare you out of sleep. The book includes Ms. Butler's commentary on her thought process' in writing the stories. The best of science fiction.

Jun 12, 2012

short stories


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

To Top