The Crown's Game

The Crown's Game

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
8
1
Rate this:
"Gorgeous and richly imagined." Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series "Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance." Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crowns Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter or die in the process from debut author Evelyn Skye. Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters the only two in Russia and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side. And so he initiates the Crowns Game, an ancient duel of magical skill the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsars most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death. Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has? For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crowns Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with beautiful, whip smart, imaginative and he can't stop thinking about her. And when Pasha, Nikolais best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself. As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crowns Game is not one to lose.
Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, 2016.
ISBN: 9780062422606
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kimbookkeeper
Mar 31, 2017

This book is a total MUST READ.

PinesandPrejudice Dec 20, 2016

This book was intriguing and I loved the Russian Magic History aspect of the whole thing. It left us on one heck of a cliff hanger which is frustrating but awesome at the same time. The character development was good and I enjoyed the magic in the world a lot. The plot wasn't that unique and yet I thought the tension and climax were well constructed. There are a lot of questions I still have so I want the second book, like now.

AL_KELSEY Nov 21, 2016

It's almost not fair to write a book about Russia in the time of the Tsars. It's a literary goldmine after the hubbub over Anastasia, the Lost Princess, a terrifying and haunting story about the royal family that I was completely enamored with growing up, and still to this day.

Skye did write an original story, however. This isn't a remake Anastasia, or even a remake Imperial Russia novel. She decided to take some creative control, and I am so glad she did. There are definitely ties to the enchantment thought to be surrounding Rasputin back in the early 1900s, so it is easier to believe this semi-fantasy story because it is not a completely new idea.

The characters are close to what you'd expect in this book, and a lot of the plot reveals the reader can see coming a mile away, but because of the well written story, detail, character/enchanter development, they are reveals you aren't too disappointed in!

n
nyeesp23
Oct 12, 2016

This book was wonderful I found it really sad at the end but i want to know where he's mother is and what she is doing. Oh i really want to know!

LoganLib_Kirra Aug 29, 2016

Set in 19th-century Russia two enchanters duel for the spot of the Imperial Enchanter. The winner will take the position and the loser will die. Perfect for fans of The Night Circus.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jul 25, 2016

The Crown's Game really had me going back and fourth as to if I was enjoying it or not. Vika and Nickolai are forced into a duel, also known The Crown's Game, and one of them must die. But throughout the whole book, of course they fall in love with each other. I was a bit disappointed when the actual fighting came. They really never fought against each other except for maybe the first few turns and that was it. There was rarely any action. And then we come to this big final duel and you're thinking, "finally! Some cool magic fighting." Nope! None of that happened. There was really no fight at all. Near the end I did start to like the characters but really, you go reading a whole book only to have really two interesting pages. This book wasn't terrible but it could have been so much better in the action department. I don't know if there's a second book coming out but I don't know if I will pick it up. All in all, that's why I gave this book three stars.
- @Aweesha_Says of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

Who, once in a while, doesn't enjoy some romance in a historical fiction novel? I certainly do, although the ending of this nook may or may not have thrown me into a bit of a tizzy. I, personally, have read a previous bit of Russian history, so I understood a partial bit of the language used. Words like "Tsar" did not bother me as much, just the plotline. The idea of this novel was captivating, but I just did not like the end result or the in between moments. It seemed like there was a giant part missing from suspense. However, this was an overall enjoyable read, and I know that there will be many who will find it more for them than I did. 4/5
- @Siri of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

The Crown's Game by Skye Evelyn presents two unforgettable characters locked in a Battle Royale to win the title of Imperial Enchanter. Many would call it a marriage of the Hunger Games and Harry Potter but The Crown's game is so much more. The two characters pitted against each other eventually begin a romance that complicates the competition further. However, the rules are clear: whoever wins lives and gains immeasurable power, while the other dies. What follows is a tussle for power set in a Russia that is still ruled by the monarchy. The struggle between the two main characters only becomes clearer when juxtaposed with the struggle between their masters and teachers who happen to be siblings. The book is therefore a portrayal of the ancient battle between happiness and ambition, love and power painted with bold strokes of magic and the wonder of belief.
- @TheEccentric of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

r
Rebole
Jul 19, 2016

I love this book. I found it absolutely beautiful.

m
marthabwaters
May 04, 2016

The best way I can think of to describe this is "The Night Circus, minus the circus, in 19th century Russia." Which sounds weird! But I quite enjoyed this. The author has fun playing with history (a helpful author's note at the end expands on this), and while I kind of wish she'd written it as a standalone novel rather than a series-opener, I'm intrigued enough that I'll definitely read the sequels. Romantic and imaginative and sure to find a readership with teen fantasy fans.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top