Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Jojo Moyes, and Jane Green, Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery is an irresistible novel--moving and funny, soulful and sweet--about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly's business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer--a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start--forces Polly to reconsider the choices she's made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, 2016.
ISBN: 9780062371256
Branch Call Number: eBOOK OVERDRI
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TheresaAJ
Jul 03, 2018

This sequel to Little Beach Street Bakery finds Polly's happy world set on its head overnight. The bakery space she was renting has a new owner after Mrs. Manse's death. Saddled with a barely payable mortgage for the old lighthouse, Polly is determined to stick it out with the new owner. Unfortunately, his ideas to cut costs shreds Polly's artisan heart to pieces. When Neil, her pet puffin, gets sick on the bakery floor in front of the new manager, Polly loses her job. When Polly goes into business with Nan the Van, her former boss sabotages her at every turn. Colgan, once again, has set up a series of misadventures for Polly and Huckle with a very satisfying resolution at the end of the book.

b
bookscoutshawna
Apr 20, 2018

Neil the puffin is just everything to me.

j
Jessi52
Feb 03, 2018

Fun story, being someone who loves to bake, and has moved to a small community, I can so relate for this story. I have book 3, Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery awaiting.

1
1_Great_Book
Jul 19, 2016

Ahhhh. Jenny Colgan. Bakery on an island. The plot thickens - will Polly be able to survive the new owner of the bakery - not an islander? Fishermen and cakes and the red van on wheels who is a character in its own right..... bliss!

dgeorgia May 27, 2016

I enjoyed reading this book, but I did enjoy "Little Beach Street Bakery" (the first book in this series) better. Definitely a good read, so I still recommend it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Sno-Isle Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top